City of Abbeville Committee Meeting August 16, 2022

The Mayor and Council of the City of Abbeville met for a committee meeting on August 16, 2022 at 5:15 P.M., at the regular meeting place, the Council Meeting Room located at 101 North State Street, Abbeville, Louisiana, with the Honorable Roslyn R. White, Mayor, presiding.

Members Present:	Council Members Carlton Campbell, Terry Broussard, Brady Broussard, Jr. and Tony Hardy
Members Absent:	Councilman Francis Touchet, Jr.
Also Present:	Ike Funderburk, City Attorney Jude Mire, Fire Chief Mike Hardy, Police Chief Chris Gautreaux, Public Works Director Allie Horton, Digital Media Assistant Gene Sellers, Engineer

Mayor White stated we are here for an Ordinance meeting chaired by Councilman Tony Hardy. She asked if there were any comments from the public on any agenda item. There were none. She turned the floor over to Councilman Hardy

Councilman Hardy stated we are here to consider a proposed ordinance to amend Section 2-9, Designation of Municipal Officers and appointment of same, to remove (2) City Attorney. Mr. Funderburk stated that he has prepared a proposed ordinance to do that. It restates and reenacts 2-9. The officers that are covered by that now are the administrative assistant to the City Council, the director of public works, the supervisors of the electrical department and the street and bridge department and the supervisors of the Wastewater Plant and the Water Plant. City Attorney has been removed from the list. Mayor White stated that this was prepared at the request of the City Council.

-01 introduced by Ms. Terry Broussard and seconded by Mr. Carlton Campbell to recommend to the City Council at their regular meeting scheduled on September 6, 2022, to adopt an ordinance to amend Section 2-9, designation of municipal officers and appointment of same to remove (2) City Attorney. The motion carried unanimously.

There being no further business to discuss, Mayor White declared this meeting adjourned.

ATTEST:

APPROVE:

Kathleen S. Faulk Secretary-Treasurer Roslyn R. White Mayor